food fanatic.bookaholic.mommy

 I may not have been around for the first Book Awards Challenge, but I am here now for the Book Awards II Challenge (hosted by 3M) .

The basic rules: read 10 award winning books in10 months (deadline (June 2009). The list must include winners from at least 5 different awards.

My tentative starter list at this point (again in no particular order and some of these overlap with the 1% challenge list):

1:  How Late It Was, How Late by James Kelman (Booker Prize 1994)

2: American Gods by Neil Gaiman (Bram Stoker Award 2001)

3: The Gods Themselves by Isaac Asimov (Hugo Award 1973)

4: Doomsday Book by Connie Willis (Nebula Award 1992)

5: A Good Scent from a Strange Mountain by Robert Olen Butler (Pulitzer Prize 1993)

6: Angle of Repose by Wallace Stegner (Pulitzer Prize 1972)

7: Lonesome Dove by Larry McMurtry (Spur Award 1985)

8: Kafka on the Shore by Haruki Murakami  (World Fantasy Award 2006)

9: The Master by Colm Tóibín (IMPAC Dublin 2006)

These are all books that I already have on my shelf. The rest of the list ist yet to be decided.

Comments on: "Challenge: Book Awards II Challenge" (6)

  1. Good Luck with this. We don’t have any books in common and I haven’t read any of the books on your list.

  2. Your list has a nice variety. I read Kafka on the Shore earlier this year and loved it! I also enjoyed The Master when I read it a few years ago.

  3. mangomissives said:

    tanabata— Yes it is quite a varied list, isn’t it??? I have read quite a few of the winners on some of the awards lists (Booker and Pulitzer) so I picked this rag-tag assortment based on unread books I had sitting on my shelf.

    I have been looking forward to reading Kafka on the Shore since Murakami is one of my favorite authors.

  4. […] towards 2 reading challenges that I am currently participating in: 1% Well Read Challenge and the Book Awards II Challenge. Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Watching Watchmen Sneak peek at the upcoming […]

  5. […] Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao won the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction in 2008. It will count towards the Book Awards II Challenge  that I am participating […]

  6. […] Book Awards II Challenge GOAL: read 10 award winning books in 10 months DEADLINE: June 2009 COMPLETED SO FAR: […]

Leave a comment