food fanatic.bookaholic.mommy

Reads: Peony in Love

A Novel Peony in Love: A Novel by Lisa See

rating: 4 of 5 stars
I give Lisa See’s latest novel  3.5 stars, but since goodreads doesn’t support 1/2 stars AND I am feeling generous, I will round it up to 4. I read See’s novel “Snow Flower & the Secret Fan” last year for another book club and overall enjoyed that one more.

Good things about Peony in Love:

1) Obviously well researched on 17th century China, in particular the lives of women of that time.

2) A new euphenism for S-E-X: Clouds and rain

3) Made me happy to have been born in 20th century America where I can wear my size 8 kitten heels without being ashamed of the size of my GIGANTIC feet.

Not so good things, in my opinion:

1) The first part of the book was a bit slow going with all its talk of the plot of the opera The Peony Pavilion.

2) I never really connected with the main character Peony she seemed boring and dull… forever mooning for her one true love that she met for all of 5 minutes.

3) I felt See kept pounding it into my skull how much Peony’s life followed the plot of The Peony Pavilion. I get the point already!

View all my reviews.

Leave a Reply

