food fanatic.bookaholic.mommy

Today is pretty close to the epitome of my perfect “lazy” autumn Sunday. You must understand me a little to know why I put the word lazy in quotes. I don’t quite know how to sit around and do absolutely nothing. It’s just not in me, sorry.  That is why I may never master the fine art of meditation.

Today we woke up bright and early in our typical fashion (just try to do anything else with a 10-month old in the house) and headed out to grab a quick breakfast and then hit Whole Foods to do our preliminary Thanksgiving dinner shopping…buying all the stuff that won’t go bad between now and then (cheese, rice, nuts, apples, sweet potatoes, turnips, parsnips) and staring longingly at the lovely produce that I hope will still be just as lovely in a couple of days when I return to pick it up (Brussel sprouts, haricot verts, carrots, wild mushrooms). 

Later, after MrMango went to work. The baby and I went to book club to discuss “Tinkers” by Paul Harding (review forthcoming) …while I sipped on a gingerbread latte and the baby drank milk and snacked on Cheerios…though he did keep trying to get ahold of my latte.

Now we are home where the baby has been napping for a couple of hours and I have been making rice pudding…stirring the warm milk occasionally…the smell of cardamom wafting through the house.   I have green lentils soaking in a bowl on the counter beside a stick of butter softening on a plate….just waiting for me to cook dinner and bake that cranberry bundt cake recipe I’ve had my eye on. 

Odd idea of a “lazy” day, hmmm?

Leave a Reply

