food fanatic.bookaholic.mommy

 I make bread pudding quite frequently. I make a pretty mean bread pudding with bourbon and a whole truck full of sugar.  That bread pudding has many fans amongst my family. 

I recently made my first ever chocolate bread pudding using Dorie Greenspan’s recipe for Four Star Chocolate Bread Pudding.  This recipe for bread pudding isn’t loaded with booze like my old stand-by, which is a good thing since one of our dinner guests the night I made it was 5 6 months pregnant.

chocbreadpudding1

 I modifed Dorie’s recipe slightly by using a combination of bittersweet and semi-sweet chocolate. I used a beautiful challah bread from a local bakery and tossed in some golden raisins and semi-sweet chocolate chips. We served it slighly warmer than room temperature.  I topped it all off with some homemade whipped cream and served it with a bowl of fresh berries. The bread pudding was moist and lightly chocolatey. We enjoyed it, but my husband asked me to make the boozey one next time. 😉chocbreadpudding3

You can find the recipe for this bread pudding on Lauren’s blog: Upper East Side Chronicles.

Comments on: "Four Star Chocolate Bread Pudding" (1)

  1. Would you believe I had bread pudding for the first time last year? I blame my mom as she’s a Northern Cali girl and they don’t make these baked goods up in those parts. I ate two (or was it three?) servings in that initial sitting. I like this version as I have a major soft spot for Challah bread and golden raisins.

Leave a Reply

