food fanatic.bookaholic.mommy

Robinson Crusoe

Robinson Crusoe (Modern Library Classics) Robinson Crusoe by Daniel Defoe

rating: 4 of 5 stars

I would more accurately give Robinson Crusoe somewhere between 3.5 and 4 out of 5 stars.  It is one of those classics that I am glad that I finally read, but that I wasn’t wowed by.  Robinson Crusoe was originally published in 1719 and is considered by some to be the first English novel. The novel shows it’s age in the language and mind-set of the narrator, Robinson Crusoe.  The book is set in a time when British colonialism was at its peak and the British didn’t think to highly of people who were not white Anglo-Saxon Christians.  The novel appears to be an adventure story on the surface but there is a religious undercurrent throughout. Crusoe time and again mentions Providence, destiny, and God’s role in his adventure.  I found it interesting more for getting a glimpse into the mind of a typical 18th century Englishman than for the story itself.

While I enjoyed reading Robinson Crusoe, it definitely wouldn’t be amongst my top ten books to bring with me to a desert island.

View all my reviews.

Leave a Reply

