food fanatic.bookaholic.mommy

After a night out dining at The Savant Project, I woke up to the sound of raindrops on the skylight and rolled out of bed a little late (for me) this morning. A little late for me is 9 AM…I know….sad.

We toughed the rain and went to one of our favorite breakfast spots where I went the light route by just having a bowl of fresh fruit. After breakfast, we went to check out some appliances, fixtures, and tiles for our upcoming bathroom/laundry room project. I am thrilled that it is becoming more and more real. The contractor is stopping by next weekend to give us an updated estimate.

Now that my husband is off at work I am catching up on some emails and postings and also doing some spring cleaning.  A bit later I plan on curling up and reading some more of my book club’s selection Mister Pip by Lloyd Jones. Mister Pip is the ideal escapist read for book lovers. In this novel, the residents of a tropical aisle are distracted from the war around them by reading Great Expectations by Charles Dickens.  The book is a very quick read and I am tearing through it. If I ignore my housecleaning, I just may finish reading it today.

Comments on: "Sunday Salon: Rainy Day Reads" (4)

  1. You sound like you have had an idyllic day. I have Mister Pip, waiting to be read in my collection. I will definitely have to root through my books to find it now.

  2. Sounds like a lovely day! You should cap that off with a little Dickens on PBS tonight on Masterpiece Theatre. I hope you ignore the house too. I will feel better knowing that I am not the only one out there.

    I am reading The Post Office Girl today and love it. Highly recommend it if you get the chance.

  3. Mr. Pip was wonderful and terrible both, wasn’t it?! I went out and bought another of Lloyd’s books as soon as I saw it in the bookstore based on the brilliance of Mr. Pip.

  4. I keep meaning to read Mister Pip. I saw it at the library the last time I went and I’m not sure why I didn’t pick it up!

Leave a Reply

