food fanatic.bookaholic.mommy

Mango Crumb Cake

So, this week’s TWD recipe was Blueberry Crumb Cake, but I just had to Mango-it-up. I substituted diced fresh mango for the blueberries and orange zest for the lemon zest.  I also veered off the beaten path slightly from Dorie’s instructions and mixed the crumb topping by hand rather than drag the food processor out of its hiding place.  Plus, I baked this cake in the wee hours of the morning and didn’t want to wake up my honey with the whirring of kitchen machinery.

mangocake2

The resultant cake was moist and studded with juicy bits of mango.  The cinnamon, nutmeg, and orange zest in the batter added a nice flavor the complimented the mango well. Though my husband did use this as another opportunity to preach to me about how the mangoes in American supermarkets are nowhere near as good as the ones that he can get back home. Sigh, then take me THERE and buy me a mango! 

mangocake1

 

Sihan of Befuddlement chose Dorie’s Blueberry Crumb Cake for this week’s Tuesdays with Dorie selection. She has the recipe posted on her blog so be sure to stop by and check it out.

Comments on: "Mango Crumb Cake" (3)

  1. YUM! Your mango version sounds fabulous!!

  2. Oh wow, mangoes! Sadly, I don’t think I’ve ever tried mangoes but I haven’t met many fruits I didn’t like so I bet this was delicious!

  3. Mango and orange sounds like a fabulous substitution – I am rather fond of mangoes.

Leave a Reply

