food fanatic.bookaholic.mommy

I started the day off by meeting with 6 others for some Dim Sum in Quincy. It has been a couple of years since I last had dim sum so I was looking forward to it.  Some of our group were not the most adventurous eaters so we didn’t try that many dishes and walked out of there with a bill of only $30 and change. Pretty affordable!  Next time, I will be taking my husband since he loves to join me on my dining adventures.

And now I am back in my cozy little house where I did a bit of work and then finished the last 40 pages of The Third Policeman by Flann O’Brien. This was an odd little book that counts for two different reading challenges I am participating in: the LOST challenge (books referenced by the TV show) and the 1% Well Read Challenge (books from the 1001 list).

My next book that I will start reading later today is My Life in France by Julia Child. I checked this out of the library along with about 9 other books. Not to mention the 4 library books that I already had sitting at home. Yes, I have a book addiction. There is a slim chance that I will finish all of the books by the time they are due. But, seriously, why do I do this to myself?? I guess that I am just a life long overachiever… Too bad that I don’t always succeed.

The rest of the books I currently have checked out of the library are:

  • Robinson Crusoe by Daniel Defoe
  • The Quiet American by Graham Greene
  • Travels with Alice by Calvin Trillin
  • Candy and Me: A Love Story by Hilary Liftin
  • That they may face the rising sunby John McGahern
  • The Gastronomical Me by MFK Fisher
  • In the Country of Last Things by Paul Auster
  • The Lone Ranger and Tonto Fistfight in Heaven by Sherman Alexie
  • The Spy Who Came in from the Coldby John Le Carre
  • Slow Man by JM Coetzee
  • Mister Pip by Lloyd Jones
  • In the Forest by Edna O’Brien
  • Common Ground by J. Anthony Lukas
  • Vanishing Point by David Markson

sigh.

So what are you reading/doing today?

Comments on: "Sunday Salon: Dim Sum & then some…" (3)

  1. Sounds like a good day 😀
    My salon is up, and had a very nice day. Warm sunny weather

  2. It’s been a beautiful day here in Texas and the weather has distracted me from reading.

    I’m blaming the weather.

  3. I haven’t had dim sum in a dog’s age. yum. 🙂 my dining adventures just took me to the local diner for challah french toast. very good as well! 🙂

Leave a Reply

