food fanatic.bookaholic.mommy

Another 1%

Last year, I signed up for the 1% Well Read Challenge, which set the goal of reading 10 books from the 1001 Books You Must Read Before You Die list. I ended up surpassing that goal and reading 16 books from the list.

Well, as you may know, I LOVE lists, so I am signing up for the challenge again this year. In the past year, the publishers have revised the 1001 list to take away some of the original books and add some new ones. If you include all the books from the original list and the new list that’s over 1300 books. These people must want me to spend every waking minute of my life reading! ūüėȬ† Thus far, I’ve read 158 of the books from both lists, so, yes, I have a ways to go.

So, I am signing up to read 13 books from the complete list over the next year. (end date March of 2010) Some of the books that I plan on reading are (subject to change, of course):

  1. The Third Policeman by Flann O’Brien
  2. The Reluctant Fundamentalist by Moshin Hamid (new list)
  3. Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day by Winifred Watson (original list)
  4. The Razor’s Edge by William Somerset Maugham 
  5. The Year of the Death of Ricardo Reis by José Saramago
  6. The Double by José Saramago
  7. Robinson Crusoe by Daniel Defoe
  8. The Quiet American by Graham Greene
  9. The Spy Who Came in From the Cold by John le Carre
  10. Vanishing Point by David Markson
  11. That They May Face the Rising Sun by John McGahern
  12. In the Forest by Edna O’Brien
  13. Slow Man by J.M. Coetzee

ALTERNATES (because I have no shortage of books on my shelf)

  1. Sometimes a Great Notion by Ken Kesey
  2. A Prayer for Owen Meany  by John Irving
  3. Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy
  4. The Things They Carried by Tim O’Brien
  5. V. by Thomas Pynchon
  6. The Master by Colm Toibin
  7. Snow by Orhan Pamuk
  8. The Corrections by Jonathan Franzen
  9. Great Apes by Will Self
  10. How Late it Was, How Late by James Kelman
  11. Remembering Babylon by David Malouf
  12. The Dumas Club by Arturo Perez-Reverte
  13. The History of the Siege of Lisbon by José Saramago
  14. Foucault’s Pendulum by Umberto Eco
  15. The Satanic Verses by Salman Rushdie

Have you read any of these books?

Comments on: "Another 1%" (1)

  1. Good luck, these look like some great books. I have Sometimes A Great Notion on my TBR list as well. The only book I’ve read from your two lists is A Prayer for Owen Meany, and I LOVED it. I’m a big John Irving fan though!

Leave a Reply

