food fanatic.bookaholic.mommy

I saved this Dorie recipe until St. Patrick’s day since I decided to Irish-it-up a bit by substituting in Irish Whiskey for the Armagnac. I reconstituted 1/8 cup of golden raisins in 1/8 cup of Irish Whiskey and then dumped those drunken raisins into the deeply choclatey cake batter. I halved Dorie’s recipe and made it in a 4″ spring-form pan instead of an 8″ spring-form pan since I was already baking another booze-y Irish cake for St. Patrick’s Day and didn’t want booze-y cake overload.

irishwhiskeycake

 

As I’ve already asserted, a cake decorator, I am not!  (anyone local want to go take a cake decorating class with me???)  And this poor baby got beaten and battered during the 50 mile stop & go car ride to my mothers house.  Even if it was beaten with a Blarney Stone, it was still pretty tasty. It was very dense and moist and had a rich chocolate flavor and you could definitely taste the Irish Whiskey!

For Dorie’s original recipe head of to LyB’s blog And Then I Do The Dishes.  She selected this recipe a couple of weeks ago for Tuesdays with Dorie. Her cake came out much prettier than mine. (of course!)

Comments on: "Chocolate Irish Whiskey Cake" (1)

  1. Oh this looks so good. It really does make me green with envy. Thanks for the picture!
    -Erik

Leave a Reply

