food fanatic.bookaholic.mommy

So, after a several weeks of snow storm upon snow storm and day after day of below freezing temperatures, yesterday was a relatively balmy 45 degrees. And today it is supposed to reach 50 degrees. I sit hear listening to the sound of melted snow gurgling down the gutter drains from my roof. A couple of days ago, I actually saw a robin. This is WAY too early for robins to be back in this area. I hope he stays safe and warm. Perhaps he knows something that I don’t know.

I am inspired by the weather today to do some spring cleaning. I am totally ambitious and  planning to:

  •  empty out and reorganize my kitchen cabinets
  • reorganize my cook book shelf, which looks like it is about to explode
  • put away the last of my Xmas decorations (I know, I know, what a slacker!)
  • pack up clothes that I don’t wear anymore to give to charity

We’ll see how much of this I actually get done.

Drop CityWhile cleaning, I can listen to a little more of my audio book. I am currently listening to T.C. Boyle’s Drop Cityon CD. I am almost halfway through. This is the longest audio book that I’ve listened to thus far…16 whole CD’s. I am on disk 8 and really liking it so far. The story takes place in the States during the time of the Vietnam War. A commune of hippies is forced by local authorities to pick up and leave California. They chose to relocate to Alaska…. and this is as far as I’ve gotten.

The Monsters of TempletonIn the middle of this flurry of cleaning I will also start my book club book, The Monsters of Templeton. My book club meeting is on Wednesday and I haven’t started reading the book yet. I’ve heard great things about this book and it’s been on my to read list for awhile. Must.Finish.Book.Before.BookClub

How’s the weather where you’re at and what are your big plans for the day?

Comments on: "Sunday Salon: Spring, is that you??" (2)

  1. With your robin sighting, I hope spring is around the corner. I have Drop City on my TBR list and I’ve read The Monsters of Templeton. You shouldn’t be disappointed.

    Here in Southern California it’s around 57 degrees and it was raining. I plan on reading Lauren Groff’s short story collection, Delicate Edible Birds and finish a young adult read I started yesterday called Daphne’s Book. Have a good week!

  2. After a week of snow, it looks like we’re going to have a week of rain… I love spring cleaning. It always feels refreshing.

Leave a Reply

