food fanatic.bookaholic.mommy

Supercapitalism

The Transformation of Business, Democracy, and Everyday Life Supercapitalism: The Transformation of Business, Democracy, and Everyday Life by Robert B. Reich

rating: 4 of 5 stars

I like to keep up on current events, but I am by no means an expert on the government or the economy. When Supercapitalism was selected as the monthly pick for one of my book clubs my first thought was “This will be different”. My second thought was “Hmm, I am not sure how everyone in the book club will feel about reading this book.” Our book club reads mostly contemporary fiction and memoirs. This book was a few steps outside of our book club’s comfort zone.

I talked to several other members before the meeting who said they gave up on it or weren’t even going to start it. I picked it up a week before book club. I was thrilled to discover that the book was very accessible for someone who is not an economics-geek.  Reich does an excellent job of explaining the dynamic between capitalism and democracy and how currently the American (and the world’s) economy is in a state of supercapitalism. This means that for the most part capitalism trounces democracy. Reich explains how the almighty dollar rules and limits legislation being passed that is for the “good of the people”. 

Some may call this a book for left wing folks, but I am admittedly left wing so I enjoyed it and found it interesting. Reich was Secretary of Labor during Clinton’s presidency and his ideas are definitely more on the Democrat side of the aisle than the Republican side. Even so, Reich remains fairly objective throughout the book. He doesn’t cast blame on one single person or corporation (although he does mention Walmart a lot). Even if you tend to lean more to the right, I still think it is a good read that will make you a more socially concious citizen.  After seeing that I read this book, one of my friends told me I have a “very NPR reading list”. Heh.  Yes, sometimes I do!

Oh, and in case you are wondering it. The folks in our book club who actually read it, really enjoyed the book.

View all my reviews.

Comments on: "Supercapitalism" (3)

  1. I’ve never been in a book club before, but I thought the point of them was to expand your reading, maybe I’m wrong… I do this all the time though, judge a book before I read it and then find myself really enjoying it. I like it when a book takes me by surprise.

  2. mangomissives said:

    I like book clubs because they push me to read books that I wouldn’t normally pick out. I love discovering new authors or topics this way.

  3. […] book club read (or at least some of us did) Supercapitalism and we met at Stix to dine and discuss. None of us had ever eaten here before. I had dined at the […]

Leave a Reply

