food fanatic.bookaholic.mommy

Another week, another snow storm.

I actually quite like snow. It’s very beautiful and a calm silence falls over the world when it’s snowing out…at least until the snow plows rumble by.

I was supposed to have a book club meeting early this afternoon to discuss Last Night at the Lobsterby Stewart O’Nan, but we’ve pushed it off to 2 weeks from today due to the weather. I am keeping my fingers crossed that there will not be another big snow storm on that weekend. It is kind of ironic that a snow storm has delayed our discussion about a book where one of the driving forces in the story is a snow storm. sigh. So goes life.

Due to the snow storm I now have more time to read a book for another book club: Supercapitalism: The Transformation of Business, Democracy, and Everyday Life by Robert B. Reich. Reich served as secretary of labor during Clinton’s presidency. In Supercapitalism,  Reich discusses the dynamic between democracy and capitalism.  I am about 80 pages into it now (~225 pages total in the book) and am finding it interesting and informative.  This is far from the typical sort of book that my book club reads and I heard a few members grumbling about the selection. I hope that I am not the only one who ends up reading it!

I will also finish listening to the unabridged audio version of House of Mirth today while I am folding laundry and preparing dinner. I am such a cultured little wife.  😉

What are your plans for this fine Sunday?

Comments on: "Sunday Salon: Stuck in the Snow" (4)

  1. Oh, snow storms. We had one here last week. Snowfall is so pretty, but it makes it tough to actually do anything.

    I’m off to the bookstore this fine Sunday – for their cafe, not the book-buying opportunities. (Really!) I’m also hoping to get through a graphic novel I have out of the library.

  2. I need to write and post two reviews and hopefully squeeze in a litle more reading. LOL. I see we share two common interests: food and books. Have a great Sunday.

  3. Last Night at the Lobster was a favorite read last year. Hope the discussion is as good as the book…if it ever takes place!

  4. I’d have loved to have read, but I ended up being rushed off my feet. I had some driving practice, I had to cook lunches and dinners for the week for my 9 month old, I studied for 2 hours, I put together some furniture and had a run. It made the day feel very long doing all of those things, but at least it was productive, I suppose..

Leave a Reply

