food fanatic.bookaholic.mommy

My Favorite Reads of 2008

bookingthursdayThis week’s Booking Through Thursday question lets me partake in one of my favorite things… making a list. Here’s the question:

It’s a week or two later than you’d expect, and it may be almost a trite question, but … what were your favorite books from 2008?

The one book that was at the tip-top of my favorite reads of 2008 was by one of my favorite authors Haruki Murakami. And that book is (drum roll please!)….
The Wind-up Bird Chronicle The Wind-up Bird Chronicle

I read The Wind-up Bird Chronicle back in February and was absolutely blown away. It had that perfect twist of the bizarre and the dreamlike quality that I so love Murakami for.  I didn’t review it on my blog, but I did write a short book review on GoodReads.

I had been looking forward to reading The Wind-Up Bird Chronicleever since a former book club member recommended it to me in around 2001. It didn’t disappoint. I have read several other of Murakami’s works and he is definitely one of my favorite authors. I love the trippy, magical, and quirky quality to his writing.

Extra kudos since the book mentioned one of my favorite things: watching ducks walk on ice— hours of entertainment!

Some other books that I enjoyed in 2008, in no particular order…with a few words about each: (after the jump!)

The Abstinence Teacher The Abstinence Teacherby Tom Perrotta

 –the epic battle between a Sex Ed teacher and a group of Evangelical Christians. Very timely given the political climate of recent years…

 

 

 
One Hundred Years of Solitude One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez

 –at long last I got around to reading this classic by one of my most adored writers. 

 

 

 
A Novel A Dirty Job: A Novel by Christopher Moore

 —irreverent and satirical humor, something I had grown accustomed to in the other few of his books that I’ve read. Even though I found it entertaining. this book didn’t measure up to “Lamb”. 

 

 
An Embarassment of Mangoes An Embarassment of Mangoesby Ann Vanderhoof

 — a travel memoir about a women who steps away from her “real life” of working her job and the dealing with other everyday stresses. The author and her husband take 2 years off from their work and set sail from Toronto to the Caribbean.  The book really made me want to do the same. 

 
Rediscovering America on the Appalachian Trail A Walk in the Woods: Rediscovering America on the Appalachian Trailby Bill Bryson

 –A humorous memoir that made me want to take a really, really long hike. Very entertaining and inspiring!

 

 
A Novel The History of Love: A Novelby Nicole Krauss

–A beautiful and powerful story about  the intertwining lives of an elderly Holocaust survivor and a precocious 14 year old girl.

Comments on: "My Favorite Reads of 2008" (3)

  1. Some great books on that list! Murakami is also one of my favorite authors and I loved the History of Love. It’s been so long since I read it, I’ll have to pick it up again if I ever get the chance.

  2. Sounds like some good ones. I love Haruki Murakami! But I’ll always associate The Windup Bird Chronicle with the time I was in hospital and in excruciating pain. If it wasn’t for that I’m sure it’d be a favourite for me as well!

    I’m hoping that this year will be the year that I finally finish a book that Gabriel Garcia Marquez has written. We’ll see how it goes!

  3. Of course you read “An Embarrassment of Mangoes”, how appropriate!

    Love Bill Bryson too in all his witty splendor and I guess I will have to give Murakami another try. I read “East the Sun, West of the Moon” and didn’t like the characters much or the plot, so perhaps “The Windup Bird Chronicles” might get me grooving on hi.

Leave a Reply

