food fanatic.bookaholic.mommy

2009 Reading Resolutions

bookingthursday It’s been over a month or so since I last participated in the Booking Through Thursday meme. With the new year and a fresh start, I will try to be better with participating.

This week’s questions is:

So … any Reading Resolutions? Say, specific books you plan to read? A plan to read more ____? Anything at all?

Name me at least ONE thing you’re looking forward to reading this year!

Oh, I always have reading resolutions!  I am great at making resolutions, but not always so great at keeping them.  Some informal personal reading goals that I have:

  1. Even though the 1% Well-Read Challenge will be officially over, I am going to continue my quest to read my way through the list of 1001 Book You Must Read Before You Die.  I have currently read around 150 of the the 1001. My goal for 2009 is to read at least 25 additional books from the list.
  2. I currently have around 115 books sitting unread on my shelves. I would love to read enough of these to get the number down to under 75 books by the end of the year.

Some of the books that I am going to start of 2009 with are:

  What are your 2009 Reading Resolutions?  Have you read any of the books on my to-read-soon list above?

Comments on: "2009 Reading Resolutions" (5)

  1. I read House of Sand and Fog a few years ago – it was very good. I really like the sound of The Language of Baklava and Talking with My Mouth Full!

  2. If you’re really going to read all 1001 books – you’ll likely need a library. Of course you could just get yourself a kindle, and avoid spending all that money on Bookshelves…

    Cheers,
    Trevas

  3. mangomissives said:

    🙂 I have my library card ready to go!

    How’d you know I was out shopping around for bookshelves this week??? 😉

  4. I didn’t actually know about your bookshelf shopping excursion….

    I just assumed – 1001 books = bookshelves gallore!

    I would dread moving though. My wife tends to pack my books in the biggest boxes… so 1001 books may also = 1 sore back 😛 Maybe that’s why I love ebooks

    Cheers

  5. mangomissives said:

    I am pretty good at cycling books through my shelves. I rarely buy new books… I usually swap books with friends once we are done with them or check them out from the library.

    I haven’t tried e-books yet. Maybe someday…:)

Leave a Reply

