food fanatic.bookaholic.mommy

A Novel of Redemption (P.S.) Veronika Decides to Die: A Novel of Redemption by Paulo Coelho

rating: 4 of 5 stars

Alright folks, here is the point where you throw rocks at me. Don’t worry, I am prepared. I read Coelho’s Alchemist a few years ago and didn’t think it was as moveing and life-changing as some people say it is. I thought that it was trying to hard to stuff its message down your throat. That being said, I didn’t HATE it. It didn’t make me say “I am never going to read another word written  by this author”.  A couple of my friends had read Coelho’s Veronika Decides to Die and enjoyed it so I decided to give it a read.

Veronika Decides to Die was much more up my alley than The Alchemist.  In this story, the title character Veronika has– you guessed it– decided to die. She is sick of life. It is not that her life is horrible and miserable. She is a beautiful young woman with a normal life. But that’s just it, she thought her life was too boring and had no excitement. So she decides to overdose on pills.  She wakes up in a mental hospital where the doctor tells her that the pills have damaged her heart and she only has about a week left to live.

This news causes Veronika to reconsider her life and her desire to end it all. As she interacts with the other patients she has a profound effect on them and they on her.  Her impending mortality causes some of the other patients to question what they are doing with their life and prompts them to start making changes for the better.

This little book (under 300 pages!) kept me engrossed from page one. Coelho’s writing in this book has a touch of magic. The book has a good message that can be appreciated by almost anyone.  It had an inspiring theme that made me consider my own life and how I am living it. I need to add at least a few tablespoons more of spice and adventure to my life.

The danger of an adventure is worth a thousand days of ease and comfort.

Pardon me while I go sky dive out of that plane over there.

Veronika Decides to Die is yet another book that is included on the list of 1001 Books You Must Read Before You Die. This is the last book that I need to meet my quota for the 1% Well-Read Challenge. Cue the fanfare! That reading adventure is complete.

View all my reviews.

Comments on: "Reads: Veronika Decides to Die" (5)

  1. I read The Alchemist a long time ago and whilst I enjoyed it, like you I didn’t find it life-changing like some do. It was all right. I felt the same about Veronika Decides to Die. Good message but it wasn’t enough for me. Maybe I’m too hard to please.

  2. okay… I’m not going to throw a rock at you. I didn’t like this book. I’ve never read the Alchemist. But I did read The Devil & Miss Prym and I can assure you that that is a good read.

    My review is at http://johnandsheena.co.uk/books/?p=78 if you want to read it.

    Ever read Siddhartha by Herman Hesse? If you like Coelho at all, you’ll see he gets a lot of inspiration from books like Siddhartha.

  3. […] Jessica (Veronika Decides to Die)30. Jessica (Music of Chance)31. Jessica (Huck Finn)32. Jessica (Play it as it Lays)33. Eva (Howards […]

  4. […] Veronika Decides to Die by Paulo Coelho — December ‘08 […]

  5. There’s good info here. I did a search on the topic and found most people will agree with your blog. Keep up the good work mate!

    I’m Out! 🙂

Leave a Reply

