food fanatic.bookaholic.mommy

Almost-Fudge Gateau

Way back towards the beginning of Tuesdays with Dorie, Crazy Delicious Food selected the Almost-Fudge Gateau. She was the fifth person to join TWD. That was WAY before I jumped on the Tuesdays with Dorie bandwagon.  I think that I am the 300-something-th person to join TWD. Way to be a follower, Jess…geesh. I am really enjoying being a part of Tuesdays with Dorie and cooking my way through Dorie Greenspan’s Baking.

Back to the Almost-Fudge Gateau… Earlier this week I finished reading the non-fiction book “Emperors of Chocolate” which, of course, made me crave chocolate. My husband is a fan of rich, gooey, chocolate cakes so when I was flipping through the past TWD recipes to find something to satisfy our craving this one caught my eye as being chocolate and easy to make.

almostfudge1

I halved the recipe and made it in a 4.5 inch spring form pan instead of a 9 inch one. It ended up being a very cute cake and the husband-guy loved it. I served it with latte ice cream, since that is what I had in the freezer, but I think Vanilla Bean ice cream would go with it much better. The cake was very rich, moist and dense and was remniscent of flourless chocolate cakes we’ve had at local restaurants. This Dorie recipe is another keeper!

To see this easy to make recipe head on over to Crazy Delicious Food.

almostfudge2

Leave a Reply

