food fanatic.bookaholic.mommy

tuesdayswithdorie Another week, another Tuesdays with Dorie. This week we are baking rugelach from Baking: From My Home to Yours  by Dorie Greenspan. Piggy from Piggy’s Cooking Journal selected the recipe for this week. Dorie’s recipe is also posted on NPR from an All Things Considered story in December 2006.

According to Wikipedia rugelach is “A Jewish pastry of Ashkenazic origin. The name is a Yiddish diminutive form of the Hebrew, רוגלית (roglìt), meaning “creeping vine,” perhaps because of the rolled-up shape of the cookie.”

rugelach1

I’ve never baked rugelach before, but I’ve gotten some at the bakery several times. I was excited to try something new. I am always up for a baking adventure.  Some folks at the TWD P&Q post were questioning the inclusion of chocolate in the rugelach filling, but I decided to go for it (adventurous, see??).  I used bittersweet chocolate, raspberry jam, pecans and cinnamon & sugar for the filling.  The chocolate ended up oozing out of the rolled cookie a bit as they cooked.

The dough itself contains no sugar and is largely comprised of cream cheese which gives these little pastries a slightly sour taste. I am a fan of sourdough bread, so I liked the sour taste. rugelach10

My husband’s response when he tasted the rugelach: “When are you going to make the creme brulee again?”  He is just stuck in his creme brulee rut. I thought these rugelach were quite good. I will probably make some to bring to a Christmas party. Next time I would reduce the amount of chocolate so that the jam has more of a presence.

rugelach5

My rugelah may not be the prettiest things ever, but they are buttery, flaky and tasty and were great served with hot tea or coffee.

Comments on: "Chocolate Raspberry Pecan Rugelach" (3)

  1. I think they look great! I’m a fellow TWD baker, and I was thinking that it would be nice if we all could chip in and get Laurie some small token/gift for all the work she does. Would you be willing to contribute? If I can get enough people, it would only be about $1 per person. No pressure 🙂 Let me know! bethberg12@yahoo.com

  2. I’ll be right over…they look pretty good to me, and the flavor combination is really outstanding! I wanted to do raspberry so bad. And, oh, yeah…the creme brulee request has been working overtime here also. Great job on your cookies.

  3. Yum! Pretty is fine, but tasty is most important!

Leave a Reply

