food fanatic.bookaholic.mommy

It’s time for the final Book Through Thursday for October. This week’s question is:

Are you a spine breaker? Or a dog-earer? Do you expect to keep your books in pristine condition even after you have read them? Does watching other readers bend the cover all the way round make you flinch or squeal in pain?

I try really hard not to break spines of books but there’ve been a few that have been broken— most memorably my copy of A Suitable Boy. That is one thick paperback tome, and the poor book’s spine couldn’t hand up to all that reading of all of its pages, the book pretty much split in half and the cover fell off. After it split in half it made lugging the book to work on the train a lot easier. *shrug*

Otherwise, I don’t even dog-ear my books’ pages as I read them, I always use a bookmark of some sort.  I also never write in books, with the exception of some college text books. If I want to mark a certain passage to go back and re-read, I mark the page with a sticky-note.

How about you? What condition do you leave books in after you’ve read them?

Comments on: "Booking Through Thursday: Conditioning" (3)

  1. you are very kind to your books. i’m sure your books appreciate it!!!!

  2. Yeah, you’d probably hate me! I break book spines all the time – however, ONLY if I have bought them. If it’s a brand-new library paperback, I treat it very well. I’ll dog-ear the pages, but that’s about it.
    I read books over and over and over again, so I like breaking them in…like a good pair of shoes!

  3. I’m a person who has changed from one extreme to the other–a flip-flopper, but I have a good reason.

Leave a Reply

