food fanatic.bookaholic.mommy

CHOCOLATE!!!

Okay, now that I’ve gotten that out of my system, on to this week’s Tuesdays with Dorie recipe. This week’s recipe was selected by Clara at I Heart Food for Thought (she has a very nice blog theme/skin, if I do say so myself).  Her recipe selection from Dorie Greenspan’s Baking was the Chocolate-Chocolate Cupcakes. Clara has the recipe posted on her blog, so if you want to make these super chocolatey treats, stop by her blog and jot down the recipe.

Instead of using 2 ounces of melted bittersweet chocolate in the batter, I used 1 ounce of bittersweet and 1 ounce of semi-sweet. I had read in the TWD P&Q post how lots of people were saying that the cupcakes turned out too dry, so I knew that I had to keep a watchful eye on these puppies so that I could take them out of the oven at just the right moment.  I ended up cooking them for only 17 minutes instead of the 20 minutes that the recipe called for.

Once the cupcakes had cooled a bit, I filled them with a touch of Marshmallow Fluff. I then glazed them with the chocolate glaze from Dorie’s recipe.  Each was then topped with either Halloween sprinkles or candy corn.

These cupcakes were dense but moist and super chocolatey!  They are definitely a one-at-a-time deal since I found them to be rich and filling. I think that if I tried to shovel them into my stomach one after another that I would quickly get a tummy ache. Yes, you can have too much of a good thing.  I really liked them, but I think I will be the office hero and bring them in for the guys to enjoy.

Comments on: "TWD: Chocolate-Chocolate Cupcakes" (14)

  1. I was just gonna say the same thing. I love your blog theme. HAHA. Dang GMTA (great minds think alike)! I did the same thing. 1/2 semi and 1/2 bittersweet. Glad you enjoyed the recipe. Thanks for baking with me this week!
    Clara @ iheartfood4thought

  2. Yummy filled cupcakes.

    They look great.

  3. Your cuppies look fabulous!

  4. Oh, these look very nice and pretty…I like the simplicity a lot! Your photos are very lovely…great job!

  5. Cute table cloth! Love the filled cupcakes, I have my DH take my samples for the week to work; too much of a good thing is just too much!

  6. These look lovely! Sometimes a simple decoration is the best.

  7. I’ve got to try these with the marshmallow fluff! Yours look great!

  8. Ooh I love that you filled these with marshmellow creme .. yum! Great idea to top with candy corn too!

  9. I love that you filled them with the fluff! I wish I had tried that! They look so good!

  10. Your cupcakes look yummy!
    AmyRuth

  11. Mmmmm, marshmallow fluff sounds great with these. I’ll have to try that! 🙂

  12. Love your clever twists on the recipe! I definitely want to try filling these the next time I make them — maybe I’ll try Marshmallow Fluff too.

  13. […] Chocolate-Chocolate Cupcakes […]

Leave a Reply

