food fanatic.bookaholic.mommy

Earlier this week I hopped on a plane to spend a few days in Washington DC for work. I always way overestimate how much I will read on a flight and end up bringing an extra book that I don’t even touch. But, I fear that the one time I don’t bring a back-up book that will be the time where my flight gets delayed for several hours. Then I might run out of stuff to read!  Of course, most airports have shops to buy books but I would feel guilty about those 100+ books sitting back at home unread.

For this trip, I brought The Believers by Zoe Heller and as a back up The Emperors of Chocolate by Joel Glenn Brenner.  I got about 80% of the way through The Believers. I did most of my reading on the plane, my agenda in DC was too packed to squeeze in much reading timeThe Emperors of Chocolate didn’t see the light of day until after I got back home. I started reading it a couple of days ago and am now about 1/3 of the way through it. But, its an evil book that makes me crave chocolate. So, it may be a blessing that I didn’t get to it in DC since there was a Godiva shop on the ground floor of my hotel.

Do you read a lot when you travel? Are you good at estimating how much you will read on a trip?

Comments on: "Sunday Salon: Have Book, Will Travel" (4)

  1. I am guilty of WAY overpacking books for a trip. What if I start one and don’t like it? I need many options, just in case. I found myself on a cruise one time, in bad weather, with not enough to read to get through the rainy days at sea. It was horrible!

  2. Never never leave the house without taking at least one more book than you think you are going to need. There is nothing worse than finding yourself bookless in what is always the most godforsaken place. I speak from bitter bitter experience!

  3. I read tons on the road – and, like you, I always bring extra. I had one terrible trip several years back where I ran out of books. Never again!

  4. I tend to pack more books that I can read. I’m never sure what to read next, so I have to have plenty of choices.

Leave a Reply

