food fanatic.bookaholic.mommy

This week’s BTT question is:

Okay–here was an interesting article by Christopher Schoppa in the Washington Post.

“Avid readers know all too well how easy it is to acquire books — it’s the letting go that’s the difficult part. … During the past 20 years, in which books have played a significant role in both my personal and professional lives, I’ve certainly had my fair share of them (and some might say several others’ shares) in my library. Many were read and saved for posterity, others eventually, but still reluctantly, sent back out into the world.

But there is also a category of titles that I’ve clung to for years, as they survived numerous purges, frequent library donations and countless changes of residence. I’ve yet to read them, but am absolutely certain I will. And should. When, I’m not sure, as I’m constantly distracted by the recent, just published and soon to be published works.”

So, the question is his: “What tomes are waiting patiently on your shelves?

Ahhh, the good old to-read shelf— a topic that is a bit too near & dear to my heart. I currently have around 115 books sitting unread on my to-read shelf. All of these books are as yet unread by me. I am hoping to get that number to under 100 by the end of 2008.  Some of these books have been sitting unread on my shelf for over 4 years. They’ve been lugged from place to place when I’ve moved. They glare at me angrily as if asking “when on earth are you going to pay attention to me??”  I feel a bit like a neglectful parent.

My shelf contains a nice mix of classics and more contemporary works of both fiction and non-fiction. A random sampling of books on my to-read shelf:

Some books on my to-read shelf are ones that I’ve actually purchased, but most are ones that I’ve gotten in a swap. I’ve swapped dozens of books with real life friends and dozens more via Paperbackswap.com.  I get to a point where my to-read shelf has a number that is not as outstanding and then I can’t resist the allure of new-for-me books received via a swap.  In fact, I plan on hosting a book swap party later this fall. I have a box of finished books under my bed just waiting for new homes.

Comments on: "Booking Through Thursday: Sitting on the Shelf" (6)

  1. (“I feel a bit like a neglectful parent.”) We do feel guilty don’t we? Not fair, when we’re providing a perfectly nice resting place for them.

  2. You can safely throw out the Hemingway and Naipal. I did.

  3. Naipal is one of my favorite authors. Try Bend in the River.

  4. I’ve not read any of the books you mentioned but I’d love to try Christopher Moore’s books one of these days…

  5. I see two on your shelves that are on my TBR list too:

    Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day and The Brief and Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao. I’ll look forward to your review!

  6. I’ve got Miss Pettigrew on my shelf as well. It’s only been there for about a month, but we’ll see how long it sits.. and sits:-)

Leave a Reply

