food fanatic.bookaholic.mommy

This week’s Booking Through Thursday is a series of questions. Here are my less than inspired answers…. (sorry, I only got about 3 hours sleep last night!)

What was the last book you bought?

The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Diaz — this is the selection for one of my book clubs for this month. I am really looking forward to reading it as I’ve heard tons of rave reviews for it.

Name a book you have read MORE than once

Hmmm, I don’t re-read books very often. I am more the type to want to move on to explore new books. I will have to think about this one. There are plenty of kids books that I’ve read more than once but I can’t immediately think of a “grown-up” one.

Has a book ever fundamentally changed the way you see life? If yes, what was it?

There are a few that come to mind…most are non-fiction:  Omnivore’s Dilemma by Michael Pollan is one of the most recent ones that I’ve read. Omnivore’s Dilemma made me think about the different way and places that we get our food from and what the impact of the different methods are.  I find myself opting for local foods whenever possible now.

How do you choose a book? eg. by cover design and summary, recommendations or reviews

Some of the books I read are because they are book club picks and were selected by the group. I find a lot of books by reading friend’s reviews and ratings on GoodReads.com.

Do you prefer Fiction or Non-Fiction?

I tend to read a lot more fiction than non-fiction. But I love a well written non-fiction book as well.

What’s more important in a novel – beautiful writing or a gripping plot?

When I was in my teens I definitely would have said a gripping plot…but I’ve grown to appreciate beautiful writing more than a gripping plot now. I love character driven stories where the author expertly paints each character in such a way that really lets us get to know them. 

Most loved/memorable character (character/book)

So many, but one of the most memorable (not necessarily loved) is definitely Humbert Humbert, the protagonist from Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov.

Which book or books can be found on your nightstand at the moment?

I am currently reading Watchmen by Alan Moore & Dave Gibbons and Kafka on the Shore by Haruki Murakami.

What was the last book you’ve read, and when was it?

Yesterday, I finished Hannah’s Dream by Diane Hammond.

Have you ever given up on a book half way in?

I usually tough it out to the end. But, I’ve given up on a few stinkers in my days.

 

What are your answers to some of these questions?

Comments on: "Booking Through Thursday: Book Meme" (1)

  1. OSCAR WAO was a bit of a letdown after all the hype. I found the portions that dealt with the history of the Dominican Republic fascinating but structurally I thought the book was flawed.

    When I think of a book that changed my life, two titles come to mind: FEAR & LOATHING IN LAS VEGAS (Hunter S. Thompson) and Annie Dillard’s HOLY THE FIRM. Couldn’t ask for two more diverse titles than that, eh?

    Good post…

Leave a Reply

