food fanatic.bookaholic.mommy

 

 My mouth started watering the minute I read the recipe for this week’s Tuesdays with Dorie pick: Caramel Peanut Topped Brownie Cake. Yum, yum! This recipe was selected by Wee Treats by Tammy. She has the recipe on her site. Tammy opted to make the cake as cupcakes, which turned out really cute.

 

 With butter and Valrhona chocolate in hand, I began…. (okay, not literally in hand… that might have gotten a bit melty and messy) 

I ended up with a beautiful glossy topped cake. It is definitely a show stopper.

My caramel came out perfect. My cake is a little dry. I blame my wonky oven.  The oven came with the house when we bought it 2 years ago and God only knows how old it is. Lately it has been a bit flakey, and sometimes the burners don’t work and it seems the baking temperature in the oven is not accurate. But… something good has come out of this. My husband and I are going shopping for a new oven this week. YAY!  We were planning a kitchen remodel for sometime next year, but we both cook way too much and this stove is getting way too annoying. We can’t wait anymore to get a new stove. NEED IT NOW!!!

Once I get the new oven, I will definitely try making this cake again with hopes of a moister result without having to peek in the oven every other second to make sure it is not randomly deciding to overheat. 🙂

Comments on: "TWD: Caramel Peanut Topped Brownie Cake" (2)

  1. I overbaked my cake and found it somewhat dry as well. Congratulations on your decision to get a new stove and oven! Enjoy!

  2. Beauty of a cake! Too bad it was a little dry, it’s happened to me before with this recipe, so disappointing!

Leave a Reply

