food fanatic.bookaholic.mommy

This week’s Booking Through Thursday Question is:

What, in your opinion, is the best book that you haven’t liked? Mind you, I don’t mean your most-hated book–oh, no. I mean the most accomplished, skilled, well-written, impressive book that you just simply didn’t like.

Like, for movies–I can acknowledge that Citizen Kaneis a tour de force and is all sorts of wonderful, cinematically speaking, but . . . I just don’t like it. I find it impressive and quite an accomplishment, but it’s not my cup of tea.

So . . . what book (or books) is your Citizen Kane?

 

I had always heard everyone rave about A Confederacy of Dunces. I finally read it last year for a book club and while I enjoyed reading it, I didn’t find it lived up to all the hype. It definitely wasn’t the funniest or most clever book ever like some people touted.

Another book which has a lot of people who love it is The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho. I was really looking forward to reading it. But this one too fell short of the great expectations that I had for it.

What about you?  What books that are considered to be “great reads” or “best book ever” by others did you just not enjoy that much.

Comments on: "Booking Through Thursday: Best" (4)

  1. I agree about Coelho. He is much hyped.

    My BTT post!

  2. I haven’t read either of those, but I listed three. Come see.

  3. I picked The Corrections, which I still might finish reading someday.

  4. Isn’t it just weird how many ppl rave about a book and ya just can’t get into it? I wonder if any ppl just make it up and say they read it just to be “in” with other ppl.

Leave a Reply

