food fanatic.bookaholic.mommy

I have over 400 recipes bookmarked in my recipe box on Epicurious.com. In an effort to de-clutter my life, I flipped through all my old Gourmet and Bon Apetit magazines and any recipes that I was interested in, I went and flagged on Epicurious and threw the magazine into the recylcing bin.

One of those recipes was Scallops with Asian Lime-Chile Sauce. The recipe calls for medium sea scallops seared on bamboo skewers. All that my local market had was small sea scallops so I opted to sautee them without skewers. My take on the recipe was still really tasty. My husband told me that he wished that I had bought more scallops. I am going to keep my eyes open for larger scallops so that I can try to stay more true to the original recipe.

 These scallops were included in a couple of menus on Epicurious. I look at these menus for inspiration for side dishes. I made the Pickled Cucumber and Radish from the Light in the East menu.  We really enjoyed these pickles and they were super easy.

I also made ginger garlic scallion basmati rice as a side dish. This rice came out really good. I chopped up a few garlic cloves and an equivalent amount of fresh ginger. I then heated up oil in a skillet and fried up some cumin seeds for a few seconds and then threw in the garlic and ginger and cooked them up until slightly golden brown. Next I stirred in 2 cups of rice and some salt and pepper. I added chicken broth, sweet peas and cooked until the rice was done. I tossed in chopped green onions before serving. 

I also served a torn chicken and cabbage salad which I will post about later. But, for now, here’s the scalop recipe.

Scallops with Asian Lime-Chile Sauce (adapted from Epicurious.com recipe)

Ingredients

  • 1 small garlic clove, chopped
  • 1 small fresh hot chile (2 1/2 inches long, preferably red), chopped, including seeds
  • 2 1/4 teaspoons sugar
  • 2 tablespoons seasoned rice vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons Asian fish sauce
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons water
  • 1 tablespoon fresh lime juice
  • 1 lb. sea scallops, tough muscle removed from side of each if necessary
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil

Prep

Puree garlic, chile, and sugar to a fine paste. Add vinegar, fish sauce, water, and lime juice and mix until combined.

Pat scallops dry. Then brush both sides with oil (2 teaspoons total). Season scallops with salt and pepper.

Brush a 12-inch nonstick skillet with remaining teaspoon oil and heat over high heat until hot but not smoking. Sear scallops, turning over once, until just cooked through, about 6 minutes total.

Serve scallops with sauce spooned over.

Cooks’ note:

• Sauce may be made 1 day ahead and chilled, covered. Bring to room temperature before serving.

Comments on: "Scallops with Asian Lime-Chile Sauce" (1)

  1. […] was looking for something to go with a seared scallop recipe that I found on Epicurious. I browsed through a few of my cookbooks and found the ideal salad […]

Leave a Reply

