food fanatic.bookaholic.mommy

Dimply Plum Cake

 

This week’s Tuesdays with Dorie baking selection was the Dimply Plum Cake. The recipe was selected by Michelle at Bake-En.  In her recipe for this breakfast cake, Dorie calls for the use of small plums, orange zest, and cardamom, but she makes several suggestions for substitutions for those 3 ingredients.

 

 I used black plums, grapefruit zest, and cardamom (I love, love, love cardamom!).  The recipe calls for the plums to be cut in half and placed skin side down in the cake batter. That is exactly what I did. Next time, if I use full sized plums again I will probably cut them into smaller pieces because with the size they were, they didn’t get *quite* soft enough as they baked.

 The cake consistency was a bit uneven. Some parts of the tops and edges got quite brown, but some interior bits under the plums in the center of the cake were a bit gooey. I will blame the super-sized plum halves!  Yeah, that’s it.

I served up squares of the final product with a scoop of vanilla bean ice cream.  My husband really enjoyed the flavor of the cake and told me to “make it again, next time with no plums. I don’t like plums in my cake.”  Ooookaaay.  I liked the cake as well and kind of agreed with him about the plums. They were tricky to eat. Next time, I will use different fruit and/or smaller pieces.

If you want to try making this cake yourself, the recipe is in Baking: From My Home to Yours by Dorie Greenspan.   Michelle will likely also post it on her blog at Bake-En. Don’t forget to check out the TWD Blogroll to see what over 200+ other bakers had to say!

My husband and I are both super excited about next week’s recipe– Creme Brulee (page 393) which was selected by Mari

Comments on: "Dimply Plum Cake" (4)

  1. Welcome to TWD! Your dimply cake looks really pretty. Lots of people had the same cooking issues that you had with the cake. I’m with you on the cardamom – love that stuff!

  2. Welcome to TWD! Your cake looks delicious! I’m also really looking forward to the creme brulee!

  3. Welcome! That looks lovely and I wish I would have forked over the money for some cardamom.

  4. Welcome! I agree, cardamom is wonderful. Lots of people had problems with parts of the cake being dry and others underdone. (I baked mine too long so it was all dry). I think your idea of smaller pieces of fruit is a good one.

Leave a Reply

