food fanatic.bookaholic.mommy

This week’s question for Booking Through Thursday is:

Autumn is starting (here in the US, anyway), and kids are heading back to school–does the changing season change your reading habits? Less time? More? Are you just in the mood for different kinds of books than you were over the summer?

The only season where my reading habits sometimes change is during the summer, when I tend to read a higher percentage of “fluff” books than at other times of the year. This past summer I took this to the extreme and decided to read all the unread chick lit books sitting on my to-read shelf. I enjoy the occasional piece of chick lit but this summer I went a wee bit overboard. My brain turned to sickly sweet strawberry jam by the end of the summer. I was yearning to read something with more substance and a bit less predictable.

So in the past month, I’ve been picking up books with a bit more heft as I attempt to return my brain from its gelatinous state to something a bit more capable of reading about challenging characters and topics. Time for my brain to digest the books instead of the other way around!

Comments on: "Booking Through Thursday: Autumn Reading" (2)

  1. Awww! But the fluff can be so much fun! Who needs a non-“sickly sweet strawberry jam” brain anyway?

  2. Time to put the fluff away!

Leave a Reply

