food fanatic.bookaholic.mommy

I didn’t get nearly as much reading done today as I’d hoped. I had lofty goals of reading 80+ pages of my book club book “Then We Came to the End” by Joshua Ferris. I only read about 20 pages of it, but I also read a bit of “The Bell Jar” by Sylvia Plath. So that’s something…. The relative lack of reading was for a good cause— COOKIES!  The cookies came out great. They are the Chocolate Whopper Malted Drops that were this week’s selection for Tuesdays with Dorie. I am not officially signed up for TWD yet, but decided to try the recipe anyway since I’ve always loved malted milk balls. I will make another post later about my cookie baking adventures.

I also went to tour Adams National Historic Park in Quincy, MA with my mom who came down to visit for the afternoon. Even though the park is so close by I had never been there before. The tour was $5 for adults and lasted about 2 hours. We got to tour 3 historic homes that belonged to President John Adams and his family.  I had read “1776” by David McCullough last year for book club which touched a bit upon John Adams. I have not read McCullough’s biography of Adams, but I did see the HBO mini-series version of it.  I am hoping to read the book at some time in the future when I’ve read most of my unread TBR books.

At the National Historical Park, the most interesting of the houses was the so called “Old House”.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Adams Old House had a very lovely garden with paths lined with colorful flowers and several shady tree just begging to be curled up under with a book.

Adam's House Garden

Adams House Garden

The property also features the first American Presidential Library.  It is an out building of the Old House and has floor to ceiling books lining all four walls.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Weathervane on Roof of Adams Presidential Library
Weather vane on Roof of Adams Presidential Library

And for dinner… we ventured into South Boston to have dinner or goulash and potato pancakes at a Polish restaurant… but more on that in a later post.  I must try to read a bit more before I drift off to sleep tonight.

Comments on: "Sunday Salon: Day of Cookies, History & Goulash" (4)

  1. Cookies are always a good reason not to get much reading done. 🙂 As for the books to which you did get, I haven’t read The Bell Jar yet, which is surprising since I love Plath, but very much like would like to do so– if I didn’t already have 100-plus books on my “to-be-read” list. 😦

  2. Those cookies look fabulous (saw the photo in the next post)! I agree, if you’re not going to get much reading done, that’s a good reason. The historic house tour sounds fun.

  3. […] Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath: I was reminded about this on a Sunday Salon post this past weekend here. I love Plath’s poetry, but have never read this, I realized. […]

Leave a Reply

