food fanatic.bookaholic.mommy

  I am being the Best.Wifey.Ever and cooking my husband a splendorific Turkish food feast for dinner tonight. (Blog entry coming soon on the food details, so stay tuned!)

As I was prepping dessert (a yummy looking summer fruit pudding) I listened to the last 4 CD’s of the unabridged audio version of The Last Summer (of You and Me) by Ann Brashares.  This is the first adult novel by the author of the young adult Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants books. I had really enjoyed the 1st Travelling Pants book, so when my mom gave me the audio version of The Last Summer (of You and Me) I was eager to listen to it. Well, I’d been listening to it bit by bit for about a month… today, at last I finished it… My opion of it: “meh.” Detailed review to follow in a later post.

Before I start making the kebobs for dinner I plan on reading the last 30 or so pages of Junky by William S. Burroughs. Its gritty and disturbing… AND I am enjoying it. It is a good change-up from all the fluffy chick lit that I read for most of the summer. I’ve had Junky on my shelf for awhile, but I am finally reading it since I have included it in my list for the 1% Well Read Challenge.  I will hopefully post a review of it in the next day or 2.

Next up on my reading list, is The Weight of Water by Anita Shreve. I have to read it for book club Wednesday night. My friend Amanda told me that it was a quick read, so I have full faith in myself that I will be able to finish it on time (even if it means staying up past midnight the night before).

After Weight of Water, I am going to read Then We Came to an End by Joshua Ferris. This is another book club book meeting in 2 weeks. Note to self: am I in too many book clubs??

Comments on: "Sunday Salon: Cooking and Reading" (2)

  1. “No, you are not in too many book clubs!”, said the author who is trying to get more book clubs to read her book, STANDING STILL.

    ps I loved “And Then We Came To The End” and I love the honest vibe of your blog

    KellySimmons

  2. mangomissives said:

    Thanks for your comment! I have been looking forward to reading “And Then We Came to The End”. The reviews make it sound humorous.

    I will check out your book. It *is* my month to pick the book for one of my clubs. 😉

Leave a Reply

