food fanatic.bookaholic.mommy

 This week’s Booking Through Thursday Question:

I was looking through books yesterday at the shops and saw all the Twilight books, which I know basically nothing about. What I do know is that I’m beginning to feel like I’m the *only* person who knows nothing about them.

Despite being almost broke and trying to save money, I almost bought the expensive book (Australian book prices are often completely nutty) just because I felt the need to be ‘up’ on what everyone else was reading.

Have you ever felt pressured to read something because ‘everyone else’ was reading it? Have you ever given in and read the book(s) in question or do you resist? If you are a reviewer, etc, do you feel it’s your duty to keep up on current trends?

The most recent time that I felt something close to peer pressure to read a book was when the last Harry Potter book was released and everyone ran out and bought it @ midnight…and then they stayed up all night reading it. I’ve always lagged my reading of the Harry Potter books by a year or two after they were released.  I still haven’t read the final Harry Potter book. I just read book 6 last year and expect to read book 7 in the next few months. so don’t spoil it for me! 

Since I am in several book clubs, I do end up reading a lot of the fiction and non-fiction best sellers that “everyone is reading”. Often times I find the same book getting picked in different book clubs within a few months of each other, for example “Eat, Pray, Love” and “Three Cups of Tea” were both popular suggestions and picks in my book clubs in this past year.  

I don’t feel that it is my “duty” or obligation as a reader to read all the trendy books. I read a lot, and some of those books sometimes happen to be the latest popular book.

Leave a Reply

