food fanatic.bookaholic.mommy

Cooking for Mr. Right Cooking for Mr. Right by Susan Volland

rating: 4 of 5 stars
First off, a little background info…thanks to GoodReads and my obsessive-compulsive need to rate every book I’ve read and list every book that I own but have not read yet, I realized I had 125+ books that I need to read. Such a chore, right?

Well, I set a goal for myself at the beginning of the summer that I would try to make a good dent in that number by reading all the chick-lit and/or trashy/puff/brain-candy books that I had sitting on my to-read shelf.  It was all fun and quick reading, until about 2 weeks ago, my brain rotted from ingesting all that brain candy. I started to yearn for more literary reads…but I HAD to keep marching towards my goal.

“Cooking for Mr. Right” by Susan Volland had the honor of being the final book on my shelf that I needed to read to reach the goal. It was a pretty quick read and I read it in about 2 days. “Cooking for Mr. Right” is a chick lit novel whose main character is Kate, a 20-something sous-chef living in Seattle. She’s recently broken up with her longtime boyfriend Gaston and is not happy with her job at a local restaurant. When she finds out that Gaston has become engaged to another woman, Kate is determined to win him back. She cooks up lots of schemes and meals to try to woo him back.

I give it about 3.5 out of 5 stars (I was nice and rounded my GoodReads rating up to 4, since the book was partially about one of my favorite things: cooking!) . It was a fun summer read but I just felt the storyline was a bit too much of a chick lit cliche: girl is convinced Guy 1 is the man for her, she meets guy 2 who she thinks is sub par… she makes several embarrassing and failed attempts to win back Guy 1, as time goes on she thinks maybe she is going after the wrong guy…etc.etc… The ending was TOTALLY predictable from pretty much the beginning of the book, but it was The last 10 or so pages of the book contain recipes that the main character cooked in the story. I may try a few of them out soon.

 

Recommended for: foodie chick-lit lovers.
View all my reviews.

Comments on: "Reads: Cooking for Mr. Right" (1)

Leave a Reply

