food fanatic.bookaholic.mommy

Cuchi Cuchi

Cuchi Cuchi
795 Main St.
Cambridge, MA 02139
617-864-2929

website: http://www.cuchicuchi.cc/

 cuchicuchi1My book club held its March meeting at Cuchi Cuchi in Central Square in Cambridge. This was my first time dining at Cuchi Cuchi despite it being so close to my office. Now I am mad at myself for waiting so long to check it out.

Cuchi Cuchi has a vibe all its own with ornate decor that is reminiscent of the roaring 20′s. An atmosphere that is only enhanced by the female waitstaff decked out in duds that reflect the era. The menu is made up mostly of small plates ($8-15) with influences from around the globe. There’s also a fabulous cocktail menu with a plethora of martinis and other mixed libations.

cuchicuchi2

We each ordered 2 small plates, which was plenty of food. I started with the Savory Coronets with Tuna Tartare and Avocado Mousse (3 for $13), which Cuchi Cuchi describes as “Our Signature dish with a nod to Thomas Keller, The French Laundry”.  Thomas Keller is one of those chefs that I am just in awe of, so I had to order this. The three crispy cones stuffed with tuna tartare came served upright in a cute little rack.  I loved the presentation and they were tasty, but not my favorite preparation of tuna tartare ever.

cuchicuchi3

I also ordered the beef stroganoff ($14), 3 chunks of sirloin with shallot and mushroom sauce served over egg noodles. The stroganoff was satisfying and filling, the perfect comfort food.

cuchicuchi4

To end our meal we ordered the French Banana Bread Extravaganza and the Cornucopia, a pizelle cone filled with fresh fruit, pureed mango, and whipped cream. I found the cornucopia to be a very refreshing way to end the meal…then mango puree acted as the perfect palate cleanser.

I give Cuchi Cuchi 4 out of 5 mangoes. They are an ideal locale for a girls night out with a fun and funky atmosphere and creative cocktails.

Cuchi Cuchi on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

