food fanatic.bookaholic.mommy

TWD: Lenox Almond Biscotti

I’ve never made biscotti before, so this week’s  Tuesdays With Dorie selection of Lenox Almond Biscotti forced me to venture into new baking territory.  I was excited to try the recipe for 2 reasons: my husband loves having a biscotti with his morning coffee and almond is one of my favorite flavors for baked goods. I love almond!  You can often find me adding almond extract to brownies and cupcakes. I haven’t yet gone quite so far as eating almond paste straight out of the package, but who knows what the future holds???

Dorie’s almond biscotti recipe ended up being really easy to make.  For those who don’t know, “biscotti” actually means twice baked. First you form the dough into logs and bake them and then you slice the logs and bake the slices. Seeing as how it was my first time I wasn’t sure how forgiving the batter would be when shaping the logs to cook for the first round. They ended up just fine though. The step-1-cookie-log spread nicely as it baked.

We really liked the flavor & texture of these. They weren’t rock hard like some of the biscotti you can buy in the store. Some store bought biscotti makes me fear for the integrity of my teeth because they are so difficult to bite into.  The Lenox Almond Biscotti were nice and crispy on the outside and crunchy but still soft enough on the inside that they were easy to eat…and oh, that almond taste!

Note To Self: this recipe used up the last of my almond extract…NEED TO BUY MORE!!!

This recipe was selected by Gretchen at Canela & Camino. Hop on over to her blog to see the recipe!

Comments on: "TWD: Lenox Almond Biscotti" (4)

  1. So glad you enjoyed these! They were so yummy with a cup of coffee!

  2. pinkstripes said:

    I loved this recipe. It was so easy and delicious. Yours look yummy!

  3. I hadn’t made biscotti before, but I’m definitely making more batches!

  4. Out of almond extract — oh no!

    Glad you liked these, I did too!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

