food fanatic.bookaholic.mommy

Eats: Persephone

Persephone
283 Summer St.
Boston, MA 02210
617-695-2257

website: http://achilles-project.com/

I celebrated my birthday last week and my husband took me out for a mid-week birthday dinner at Persephone.  For those that don’t know, Persephone is all about preparing food using the freshest local ingredients.

Our GPS system did not acknowledge the fact that the numbers on Summer St. went as high as 283, which is Persephone’s address…but we were still able to find out way. We found a meter very close by and headed on in.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The front half of Persephone serves as a retail boutique selling high end men’s and women’s clothing and accessories. The racks/shelves of clothing are on a series of tracks and rollers on the ceiling so they can be pushed out of the way to make more space for a burgeoning bar crowd. The overall decor is modern and chic with large pieces of colorful artwork hanging on the walls and dark orange kidney bean shaped benches arranged in the bar area.

We went on a Wednesday night and the bar was actually fairly crowded for a Wednesday. We were early and our table wasn’t ready yet so we sat at one of the high top tables in the bar area.  While we waited for our table, we ordered the Humanely-Raised Veal Terrine from the bar menu. It came with 3 toast points, about a half dozen cornichons, parsley and capers.  The terrine had a bright pinkish red color and was definitely enough for two to share. We could have used one more piece of toast though so we didn’t have to fight over the last one. ;) The terrine was good but I am not sure if I would order it again versus trying something new.

Once we were seated at our table in the dining space we ordered another appetizer– the corn fritters with corn & tomato salsa and  lime creme. The corn fritters were shaped like mozzarella sticks. The outside was nice a cruncy and the inside had a sweet corn flavor.

For an entree we really wanted to try the lamb for 2, but it said that it takes 45 minutes, and since it was getting late, and I am now an old lady and need my sleep, we decided to order entrees that didn’t involve so much of a time commitment.

I ordered the Rhode Island Bluefish with Nicoise Salad.  The fish has a nice spice coating on it and sat atop an assortment of veggies including heirloom cherry tomatoes, red potatoes, green beans and wax beans. My husband promptly snatched one of the 2 wedges of hard-boiled eggs as soon as my plate hit the table.  The fish was perfectly cooked and the flavor was good.

My husband ordered the steak with fries. The steak was served cut into slices with a big mountain of frites. I really like the fries and kept stealing some in retribution for the stolen egg wedge. My husband wasn’t wowed by the steak but said “its pretty good”. (Sorry for the darkness of the pictures, I am going to blame my husband and his light-sucking black shirt.)

At the end of the meal our waitress brought us 2 pomegranate truffles, which were gone in about 15 seconds.

I would give Persephone 4 out 5 mangoes. I like the concept of a restaurant showcasing local ingredients. The overall vibe of the place is cool and my husband says that he’d like to go back sometime. I am curious to see what will be on their fall menu.

Persephone on Urbanspoon

Comments on: "Eats: Persephone" (2)

  1. Happy Birthday (belated) ! I was guilty of stealing the fries as well :) they were nicely spiced.

    Is that an egg on top of the corn fritters? Or cream?

  2. mangomissives said:

    A big dallop of lime flavored cream.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

