food fanatic.bookaholic.mommy

The 1% Well-Read Challenge   is hosted by 3M at 1morechapter.

The goal of this challenge is to read 10 books in 10 months from the 1001 Books You Must Read Before You Die list. For you non-math people, 10 out of 1001 is approximately 1%, hence the title. The challenge will run from May 1, 2008 through February 28, 2009. You may change your list at any time and cross-posting to other challenges is permitted. The only requirement is that your ten book choices must be on the ‘1001 List‘.

I’ve already read 142 from the list before starting this challenge.   That’s 14% for those of you calculating along at home!  Why not do this challenge and bring that number up to a nice almost even 15%?!? See my ‘1001’ shelf on GoodReads for my ratings and reviews of the ones that I’ve read thus far in my illustrious reading career.  I’m a little late getting started with this challenge… but hey, I read wicked, wicked fast.  Plus, these 10 books probably won’t rot my brain quite as much as my self-imposed Summer of Fluff-Reads Challenge. (ugh!)

I picked my 10 (and 15+ alternates) from books I have sitting unread on my to be read shelf. So here are my selected 10 in no particular order:

1. Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day – Winifred Watson

2. Junkie – William Burroughs

3. The Razor’s Edge – William Somerset Maugham

4.  V. – Thomas Pynchon

5. Sometimes a Great Notion – Ken Kesey

6. The Music of Chance – Paul Auster

7. A Prayer for Owen Meany – John Irving

8. Nights at the Circus – Angela Carter

9. Kafka on the Shore – Haruki Murakami

10.  The Year of the Death of Ricardo Reis – José Saramago

My 10 books for the challenge

My 10 books for the challenge

Comments on: "Reading Challenge: 1% Well-Read Challenge" (16)

  1. […] My tentative starter list at this point (again in no particular order and some of these overlap with the 1% challenge list): […]

  2. You will love A Prayer for Owen Meany. I’m going to take a look at this challenge.

  3. mangomissives said:

    I’ve been meaning to read A Prayer for Owen Meany for almost 10 years now..its been sitting unread on my shelf for at least 5 of those years.

    These challenges will give me a target date to read some of these lingering TBR books by. :)

  4. […] and I recently signed up for a challenge to read 10 of the 1001 books in 10 months as part of the 1% Well Read Challenge. This is my first book of the […]

  5. […] read this book as part of the 1% Well Read Challenge (reading 10 books from the 1001Books to Read Before you Die list). It’s my second book for the […]

  6. […] 1% Well-Read Challenge GOAL: read 10 books in 10 months from the 1001 Books to Read Before You Die list DEADLINE: February 28, 2009 COMPLETED SO FAR: […]

  7. […] read The Accidental for book club AND for the 1% Well-Read Challenge and the Book Awards II […]

  8. […] counts towards 2 reading challenges that I am currently participating in: 1% Well Read Challenge and the Book Awards II […]

  9. […] on the Shore won the World Fantasy Award in 2006. This book counts towards both the 1% well-read challenge and the Book Awards II […]

  10. […] book is also included in the list of 1001 Books to Read Before You Die and will count towards the 1% Well-Read challenge  that I am participating […]

  11. […] Huckleberry Finn was named one of the 1001 Books to Read Before You Die. It will count toward the 1% Well Read challenge that I have been participating in for the past few months. I am truly glad that I finally got […]

  12. […] 1% Well-Read Challenge GOAL: read 10 books in 10 months from the 1001 Books to Read Before You Die list DEADLINE: February 28, 2009 COMPLETED SO FAR: […]

  13. […] 1001 Books You Must Read Before You Die. This is the last book that I need to meet my quota for the 1% Well-Read Challenge. Cue the fanfare! That reading adventure is […]

  14. […] Books You Must Read Before You Die list. Sure I had completed my “obligation” for the 1% Well-Read Challenge, but I’ve never met a to-read list that didn’t make me want to check off every item. […]

  15. […] though the 1% Well-Read Challenge will be officially over, I am going to continue my quest to read my way through the list of 1001 […]

  16. […] 1% Well-Read Challenge GOAL: read 10 books in 10 months from the 1001 Books to Read Before You Die list DEADLINE: February 28, 2009 COMPLETED SO FAR: […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

